Breaking Down the 2016 IPL Season

MS Dhoni

Indian Premier League is popularly called IPL all over the globe. Dates of the IPL matches have been announced by the IPL Governing Council already. On the 9th April, IPL 2016 is about to start with a grand ceremony. Due to suspension of Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals, two new teams are introduced in 2016. The new teams are known as following Rising Pune Supergiants and Gujarat Lions. Both the teams are representing Pune and Rajkot respectively. Suspended teams are eliminated from the league for about two years. The IPL season is expected to end on 29th May. This is the 9th season of IPL.

List of Players for IPL 2016 Season

Team members from the Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals are picked by the new teams. Pune Supergiants have been purchased by Sanjeev Goenka. Pune has taken MS Dhoni, R Ashwin and Ajinkya Rahane. MS Dhoni is designated as the captain of the team. Dhoni has been bought by Pune at a whopping price of 12.5 crores. Following Dhoni, Ajinkya and Ashwin has been obtained at the price of 9.5 crores and 7.5 crores subsequently.

For the Rajkot franchise, Suresh Raina has been elected as the captain. He has got 12.5 crores from the team. Brendon McCullum and Ravindra Jadeja are also part of the team.

Final list of players can be known after 6th February as the IPL auction has been held in Bangalore on the day. Butler and Watson among the foreign players and Ashish Nehra and Yuvraj may draw a lot of attention and money during the auction. Therefore, high price tag can be attached to these players after the auction.

IPL 2016 Predictions

bet365 ReviewPoints of teams are not carried forward in the next year. Therefore, it is quite hard to decide the champion of IPL season each year but this is not stopping the online bookies from making their predictions. However, some prediction can be made according to the strength and caliber of the team. Speculation about the winner can be cleared to some extent after start of the event. Forms of the players can be understood on the occasion.

On the league stage, each team plays twice with the other team. One of the matches is organized in home and other match will be away. In most cases, home is benefitted by hosting matches. Turn of the match can be changed with the players like Dhoni, Raina, Yuvraj and Rohit Sharma in the team. Gayle belongs to Royal Challengers Bangalore who can change the result of the match in mere few seconds. Therefore, Royal Challenger Bangalore can shine in IPL 2016 under the leadership of Virat Kohli.

Chennai Super Kings, Kolkata Knight Riders and Mumbai Indian have won the IPL for two times. Other teams like Deccan Chargers which is known as Sunrisers Hyderabad and Rajasthan Royals have also won the game one time each. Teams like Royal Challengers Bangalore and King XI Punjab are also credible team. Therefore, beautiful IPL trophy can be lifted by these teams in 2016. New teams can also show their credibility in due course.